4 Private Universities Get Licences


The Federal Government has provided provisional licences to four newly approved universities in Nigeria, bringing the number of private universities to 79.

The newly approved universities presented with the licenses are Greenfield University, Kaduna; Dominion University, Ibadan; Trinity University, Laloko, Ogun; and Westland University, Iwo, Osun state.

The Minister of Education, Malam Adamu Adamu speaking at the event said the provisional approval is to create room for effective monitoring and qualitative growth within the first three years of their operation, during which they will be attached to older generation universities for academic and administrative mentoring.

“It should be noted that substantive licence will only be issued to the universities if they are adjudged as being well governed after three years of probation following their respective performance and growth,” he added.ADVERTISEMENT

The minister represented by JAMB Registrar, Prof. Ishaq Oloyede noted that prior to the approval; Nigeria had 164 universities servicing a population of almost 200 million people.

In his remark, the Executive Secretary of National Universities Commission (NUC) Prof Abubakar Adamu Rasheed said the newly universities presented with licences have been under scrutiny in the last 16years and had gone through stringent assessments leading to the final approval by the Federal Executive Council

He said with the new varsities making the total number of universities 169 is still inadequate to meet with the nation’s annual demand for access to university education.

Speaking on behalf of the proprietors, Bishop Taiwo Adelakun said they will strive hard to produce great scholars that will make the country proud.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

2 + 12 =